GIA 4 C’s of Diamonds in Order of Importance; Cut, Color, Clarity & Carat Weight

Diamonds are considered to be the most precious stone you can find on earth. Created deep beneath the Earth’s surface, it takes a combination of high temperatures and high pressure to create this beautiful stone. The 4 C’s – Cut, Color, Clarity and Carat are all important on determining the value of a diamond. Brigitte Kruse & GWS Auctions, Inc is here to talk about the 4 C’s and why they are so important.

GIA 4C’s: Diamond Cut Grade

There is a lot that goes into the cut of a diamond. These precision cuts will be what make a diamond’s brilliance shine. When grading the cut of a diamond, there are seven components to the grading system.
Brightness- The total amount of light that reflects from the diamond
Fire- The dispersion of light into different colors of the color spectrum
Scintillation- The flashes of light and sparkle that happens when a diamond is moved or rotated
The last four components to the grading system are weight, ratio, durability and polish that have everything to do with the craftsmanship of the diamond.

GIA 4C’s: Color Scale for Diamonds

If you are looking for a diamond as close to zero color as possible. The more color a diamond has, the lower the value. When using the GIA grading system, the color of the diamond is determined by a scale of D-Z. Most diamonds that you can purchase in jewelry stores are sold as colorless or nearly colorless. D is colorless and Z is light yellow or brown. The color of a diamond is determined when compared to other diamonds of the same color under controlled lighting. Even the slightest differences in color can make a big difference in the quality of a diamond.

GIA 4C’s: Diamond Clarity Chart

The process in which a diamond is created can cause small blemishes or birthmarks either on top of or internally in the diamond. When a diamond is completely free of these marks or blemishes, the diamond is considered flawless. The absence or the amount of these marks are what make up the clarity of a diamond. The grading ranges from:
-Internally Flawless
-Very, Very Slightly Included
-Very Slightly Included
-Slightly Included
Most diamonds sold in diamond stores fall in the very slightly included or slightly included category.

GIA 4C’s: Carat Weight

The carat or total weight of a diamond is much different than the karat of gold; which refers to the gold purity. A one carat diamond weight 0.2 grams, or as much as a paperclip. While having a large diamond can greatly affect the value of your diamond, the other 4 C’s are equally important, if not more.

Buying & Selling GIA Certified Diamonds & More at Auction in Beverly Hills, Agoura Hills, Palm Springs, Indio & Southern California

When you buy a diamond from Brigitte Kruse & GWS Auctions, Inc, they are graded using the GIA guidelines. We buy and sell GIA certified diamonds to provide our customers with the best. Call us today!